Newest members of Academy of Distinguished Teachers named


From left, Richard Corsi, Mechele Dickerson, and John Markert

I’d like to congratulate the newest members of UT’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers.
They are:

  • Richard Corsi, Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Mechele Dickerson, School of Law
  • John Markert, Department of Physics, College of Natural Sciences

The academy was created in 1995 to recognize tenured faculty members who throughout their careers have maintained significant contributions to education, particularly at the undergraduate level. Academy members receive the title of “Distinguished Teaching Professor” and a $7,500 increase in annual academic salary, effective the following academic year.

Moreover, the academy serves as an advisory group to the executive vice president and provost on teaching excellence and will provide institutional leadership and guidance for the distinctive undergraduate experience available in our research university environment.

I’m proud of professors Corsi, Dickerson, and Markert. They’re the best of the best.

Bill Powers signature

New study confirms huge economic impact of UT Austin

I want to share with you the results of a here. The full, 67-page report can be viewed

Scott Hanna to direct Longhorn Band

One of the key institutions in Longhorn life has a new leader. Scott Hanna has been named director of the