University Awards recognize key members of UT family

Tonight, I have the pleasure of awarding the University’s highest honors, starting with the Presidential Citation, which will go to four vital members of The University of Texas family. This year’s recipients are:

  • Joe Jamail, one of America’s most successful trial lawyers, an alumnus, and a long-time UT benefactor in numerous areas
  • Peter O’Donnell, one of most generous supporters of UT in its history and the namesake of the O’Donnell Building for Applied Computational Engineering and Sciences
  • Pamela Willeford, a former U.S. ambassador to Switzerland and Liechtenstein and an alumna who has been one of the most active volunteer leaders in the University family, and
  • Judith Zaffirini, an alumna and the second longest-serving senator (and highest-ranking female and Hispanic senator) in the Texas Senate who has long supported UT in many critical ways

Other honorees tonight will include recipients of the President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Award, which recognizes excellence in undergraduate teaching:

  • Jane Arledge, Lecturer, Department of Mathematics
  • Ruth Buskirk, Distinguished Senior Lecturer, School of Biological Sciences
  • Michael Scott, Senior Lecturer, Department of Computer Science
  • Wendy Domjan, Distinguished Senior Lecturer, Department of Psychology
  • Patrick Davis, Senior Associate Dean and Professor, College of Pharmacy

The Arno Nowotny Medal, which is awarded to staff members of the Division of Student Affairs, will go to David H. Stones, a former associate registrar and database coordinator who was instrumental in modernizing our registration process among many other accomplishments.

The Civitatis Award, presented to a faculty member who has shown exemplary campus citizenship throughout a career of service at UT, will go to Sue A. Greninger, an associate professor in the Department of Human Development and Family Science who has served for nine consecutive years as secretary of the General Faculty and the Faculty Council.

I’m so proud of all of this year’s recipients. The Tower will glow orange tonight in their honor.

Bill's Signature

Woody Hunt challenges El Paso to fund scholarships

[caption id="" align="alignnone" width="375"] With Grace Xu, an El Paso high school student trying to decide between UT's McCombs School and Harvard. Scholarships will help bring talented students like Grace to UT.[/caption]   Thursday I...

Bill Gates speaks to Longhorn students, UT’s Gates Computer Science Complex and Dell Computer Science Hall open their doors

  Wednesday was a big day for UT Austin. In a ceremony attended by Microsoft founder and philanthropist Bill Gates, we officially dedicated the Calvin Lin and College of Natural Sciences and UT alumnus Bob O'Rear...